Jump to content
Main menu
Main menu
move to sidebar
hide
Navigation
Main page
Recent changes
Random page
Help about MediaWiki
XMethod Wiki
Search
Search
Appearance
Create account
Log in
Personal tools
Create account
Log in
Pages for logged out editors
learn more
Contributions
Talk
Editing
Herzing Issues: Financial Aid
Page
Discussion
English
Read
Edit
Edit source
View history
Tools
Tools
move to sidebar
hide
Actions
Read
Edit
Edit source
View history
General
What links here
Related changes
Special pages
Page information
Appearance
move to sidebar
hide
Warning:
You are not logged in. Your IP address will be publicly visible if you make any edits. If you
log in
or
create an account
, your edits will be attributed to your username, along with other benefits.
Anti-spam check. Do
not
fill this in!
{{Herzing issue notice}} '''Herzing Issues: Financial Aid''' collects the issues from the Herzing University Issue Tracker that concern financial aid. Each entry keeps the tracker's issue ID, severity, and status. See [[Herzing University Issue Tracker]] for method, severity definitions, and the full index. == Overview == This article collects six tracker records, dated between April 30, 2026 and May 5, 2026, spanning severities from Medium to Critical, with one record marked Critical. Three records are CONFIRMED ({{HU|HU-011}}, {{HU|HU-028}}, {{HU|HU-048}}) and three are POSSIBLE ({{HU|HU-059}}, {{HU|HU-060}}, {{HU|HU-061}}), meaning the latter group rests on single, unverified reports rather than confirmed evidence. The confirmed records describe recurring process failures inside the Financial Aid Department: duplicate 48-hour ultimatum notices for the same required documents ({{HU|HU-011}}), a backend processing error that misrouted a student's Graduate PLUS loan preference ({{HU|HU-028}}), and a Department of Education rule change that eliminated Graduate PLUS loan eligibility for nurses who withdraw, a change that Herzing did not communicate to students weighing withdrawal after ProctorU-related course failures ({{HU|HU-048}}). The Financial Aid Department is the named or co-named owner on every record in this set, with Central Processing, Academic Affairs, Compliance, Admissions, and the Bursar's office appearing as secondary owners depending on the issue. The three POSSIBLE records describe undisclosed costs and enforcement practices reported by students on public platforms: a financial aid cap not explained at enrollment ({{HU|HU-059}}), a 500 dollar course retake fee not prominently disclosed ({{HU|HU-060}}), and course lockouts triggered by late or missed payment without adequate notice ({{HU|HU-061}}). None of these three has been verified against Herzing's catalog or enrollment agreements, but the notes on each one point back to the confirmed processing failures above as corroborating context for a broader pattern of financial aid administration problems. == Issues == <span id="HU-011"></span> === HU-011: Student received multiple 48-hour ultimatum notices for required FA documents (MPN, Entrance Counseling) in July 2025 === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | Medium ! Status | CONFIRMED |- ! Issue type | Process Gap ! Date added | 2026-04-30 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid Department |} '''Finding.''' Per the tracker's evidence, the student received multiple 48-hour ultimatum notices for required FA documents (MPN, Entrance Counseling) in July 2025. '''Evidence.''' FA email (2025-07-22) and (2025-07-29) from fa@herzing.edu. Source Group: Prelicensure Student Handbook 2026 (SICCED09255468); Defense Bundles 2026-04-29 / 2026-04-30. '''Reported statement.''' <blockquote>This notice is to inform you that we are missing critical information needed to process your financial aid. Please provide the requested document(s) listed below within 48 hours to avoid any delay.</blockquote> '''Standards.''' 34 CFR §668.14: institutions must maintain adequate student financial aid procedures. Two separate 48-hour ultimatum notices for the same documents suggests either inadequate initial FA counseling or a process failure in tracking completion. '''Impact.''' Pressure-timeline notifications for required documents may cause undue stress. If unmet, can delay disbursement and enrollment. Two notices for the same items suggest the process was not resolved after the first. '''Notes.''' Student ID [student ID redacted]. Notices sent July 22 and July 29, 2025. <span id="HU-028"></span> === HU-028: Student's Graduate PLUS loan preference not processed correctly; backend team failed to note preference === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | Medium ! Status | CONFIRMED |- ! Issue type | Process Error ! Date added | 2026-04-30 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid Department / Central Processing |} '''Finding.''' Per the tracker's evidence, the student's Graduate PLUS loan preference was not processed correctly, and the backend team failed to note the preference. '''Evidence.''' Email chain between McChesney and the reporting student (March to April 2026). Source Group: Prelicensure Student Handbook 2026 (SICCED09255468); Defense Bundles 2026-04-29 / 2026-04-30. '''Reported statement.''' <blockquote>I think that the backend team did not see the note about the PLUS Loan being your preference. I emailed that team and asked them to review and correct this.</blockquote> '''Standards.''' 34 CFR Part 682 (FFEL/Direct Loan regulations); 20 U.S.C. §1078-2 (PLUS Loan). Failure to process the student's documented loan preference constitutes a financial aid processing error. '''Impact.''' The student's summer 2026 financial aid was incorrectly packaged. Required multiple follow-up communications to correct. Delay in summer funding could affect enrollment and tuition payment. '''Notes.''' Summer 2026 funding was not available until mid-May per the FA advisor. The student was anxious about coverage at the term transition. <span id="HU-048"></span> === HU-048: DOE rule effective July 1, 2026 reclassifies nurses as no longer "professional students," eliminating Graduate PLUS loan eligibility; students considering withdrawal due to ProctorU incidents not informed of this material financial consequence === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | Critical ! Status | CONFIRMED |- ! Issue type | Material Financial Risk / Failure to Notify ! Date added | 2026-05-04 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid Department / Academic Affairs / Compliance |} '''Finding.''' Per the tracker's evidence, a Department of Education rule effective July 1, 2026 reclassifies nurses as no longer "professional students," eliminating Graduate PLUS loan eligibility for students who withdraw. Herzing students considering withdrawal due to ProctorU incidents were not informed of this material financial consequence. '''Evidence.''' Herzing Proctor U Students GroupMe (May 1, 2026): the reporting student warned students considering withdrawal. Students Student BR, Student BS, and Student BQ were all actively considering withdrawal due to ProctorU false-flag course failures at the time of this warning. Source Group: Multiple GroupMe Archives: Herzing Nursing 2027; Herzing MSNDE 2026 (Jan to Jun 2025); Health Assessment NSG121 (Jan to Apr 2025); Herzing ProctorU Students; Herzing MSN-PNP Summer 2025. '''Reported statement.''' <blockquote>As of today the Department of Education has released a rule that designates nurses as no longer professional students. If you withdraw and you are not at another program by July 1, you are no longer eligible for the grad plus loan.</blockquote> '''Standards.''' 34 CFR Part 682 (FFEL/Direct Loan regulations); 20 U.S.C. §1078-2 (PLUS Loan); 34 CFR §668.14 (institutional obligations to provide accurate financial information). Institutions have an affirmative duty to inform students of material changes in financial aid eligibility, particularly when those changes are triggered by institutional actions (such as course failures caused by ProctorU false-flags) that may drive students to withdraw. '''Impact.''' Students who withdrew due to ProctorU-caused course failures after July 1, 2026 may permanently lose Graduate PLUS loan eligibility if not enrolled in another qualifying program. For students whose withdrawals were caused by institutional failures, the financial harm compounds the academic harm. '''Notes.''' This issue is particularly urgent because the July 1, 2026 deadline is imminent at the time of this document update. The intersection of ProctorU false-flags ({{HU|HU-030}}) causing course failures, driving withdrawal decisions, with this financial aid rule change creates a compounding harm scenario with direct institutional liability. <span id="HU-059"></span> === HU-059: Student reports Herzing imposes financial aid cap below full cost of program completion; cap not disclosed or explained at enrollment === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | High ! Status | POSSIBLE |- ! Issue type | Non-Disclosure of Financial Aid Cap at Enrollment ! Date added | 2026-05-05 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid Department / Admissions / Compliance |} '''Finding.''' According to the tracker, at least one student reports that Herzing University imposes a financial aid cap, limiting total aid below the full cost of program completion, and that this cap was not disclosed or explained at enrollment, resulting in the student facing unexpected out-of-pocket costs mid-program. '''Evidence.''' Facebook post by Student BX (January 30, 2026). Source Group: Defense Bundles and Institutional Materials (May 2026). '''Reported statement.''' Student BX states that Herzing caps the amount of financial aid a student can receive and that once the cap is reached, the student is expected to cover the remaining cost out of pocket, and that this limit was never explained at the start of enrollment. '''Standards.''' 34 CFR §668.41-43: institutions must provide clear, accurate, and complete information about the cost of attendance and available financial aid before enrollment. 34 CFR §668.14: institutions participating in Title IV programs must provide students with information about any limitations. HEA §484 (20 U.S.C. §1091). Failure to disclose a cap that results in mid-program out-of-pocket costs constitutes a potential enrollment misrepresentation under 34 CFR §668.71. '''Impact.''' A student who enrolls expecting financial aid to cover program costs may be unable to continue or complete the program when aid is exhausted mid-program, particularly in a multi-year nursing degree where the final semesters may require out-of-pocket payment. '''Notes.''' Based on a single public Facebook post; treat as POSSIBLE pending verification. Given the documented patterns of financial aid process errors already in this tracker ({{HU|HU-011}}, {{HU|HU-028}}, {{HU|HU-048}}), the underlying concern about financial aid disclosure adequacy is corroborated by the broader evidentiary record. <span id="HU-060"></span> === HU-060: Herzing student (Clarksville/Nashville campus) reported that failing a course requires paying $500 fee to retake; fee not prominently disclosed in enrollment materials === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | Medium ! Status | POSSIBLE |- ! Issue type | Undisclosed Per-Course Retake Fee ! Date added | 2026-05-05 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid / Academic Affairs / Bursar |} '''Finding.''' According to the tracker, a Herzing student at the Clarksville/Nashville campus reported that failing a course requires paying a 500 dollar fee to retake it, and that this fee does not appear to be prominently disclosed in enrollment materials, compounding the financial harm for students who fail courses due to documented institutional failures. '''Evidence.''' Facebook comment thread (April 7, 2026): Anonymous participant 615, identifying as a Herzing Clarksville/Nashville campus student. Source Group: Defense Bundles and Institutional Materials (May 2026). '''Reported statement.''' Anonymous participant 615 states that the HESI exam counts for 40 percent of the final grade and that retaking a failed course costs 500 dollars. '''Standards.''' 34 CFR §668.41-43: all costs associated with enrollment, including fees for course repeats, must be disclosed in the cost of attendance information provided to students before enrollment. HEA §484 (20 U.S.C. §1091): students must have access to accurate cost information. '''Impact.''' A student who fails a course due to an institutional failure (ProctorU false-flag, Sherpath outage, WCAG-inaccessible content) and is then charged 500 dollars to retake the course suffers compounding financial harm. '''Notes.''' POSSIBLE, the comment comes from an anonymous Facebook user and describes campus-based policies that may differ from the online program. Verification against the current Herzing University catalog and enrollment agreements is required. <span id="HU-061"></span> === HU-061: Herzing University locks students out of courses immediately upon late or missed payment without adequate advance notice; former LPN-to-RN student reported lockout as direct cause of withdrawal === {| class="wikitable" style="width:100%" ! style="width:14em" | Severity | High ! Status | POSSIBLE |- ! Issue type | Course Lockout Without Adequate Notice ! Date added | 2026-05-05 |- ! Owner | colspan="3" | Financial Aid / Bursar / Student Services |} '''Finding.''' According to the tracker, Herzing University locks students out of their courses immediately upon late or missed payment without adequate advance notice, and a former LPN-to-RN online student reported being locked out as a direct cause of her withdrawal from the program. '''Evidence.''' Facebook comment by Student BY (April 25, 2026), a former Herzing LPN-to-RN online student who withdrew. Source Group: Defense Bundles and Institutional Materials (May 2026). '''Reported statement.''' Student BY states that Herzing quickly locks students out of their courses if payment is not made immediately, that some professors did not respond to her in a timely manner, and that she would recommend other schools instead. '''Standards.''' 34 CFR §668.14: institutions participating in Title IV programs must not place undue payment conditions on enrolled students' ability to continue their studies. 34 CFR §685.102 (federal loan disbursement timelines): locking students out of courses before disbursements arrive may violate these timelines. HEA §487: institutions must maintain adequate administrative capability, including payment processing, to not disrupt student academic progress. '''Impact.''' Students who are locked out of courses immediately upon a missed payment cannot complete assignments, attend synchronous sessions, or communicate with faculty. For students using financial aid, particularly those waiting for disbursements, course lockout before aid arrives is particularly harmful. '''Notes.''' Reported by a single former student. Combined with the documented financial aid processing errors ({{HU|HU-011}}, {{HU|HU-028}}) and the financial aid cap non-disclosure ({{HU|HU-059}}), a pattern of inadequate financial processes harming students emerges. Course lockout practices should be verified against Herzing's published enrollment and financial policies. == See also == * [[Herzing Issues: Proctoring and Testing]] * [[Herzing University Issue Tracker]] [[Category:Herzing University]] [[Category:Herzing University Issues]]
Summary:
Please note that all contributions to XMethod Wiki may be edited, altered, or removed by other contributors. If you do not want your writing to be edited mercilessly, then do not submit it here.
You are also promising us that you wrote this yourself, or copied it from a public domain or similar free resource (see
XMethod Wiki:Copyrights
for details).
Do not submit copyrighted work without permission!
Cancel
Editing help
(opens in new window)
Templates used on this page:
Template:HU
(
edit
)
Template:Herzing issue notice
(
edit
)